Lifestyle

Early opening bars, pool-halls and bowling alleys

doors open to street, no neon light needed

sunlight filterinng through air dust as game breaks

blue chalk dust floats

dark brown leather bar stool seat

fat salted stick pretzels

cool tall beer in fluted pilsner glass

lean men talking soft around green carpeted table

cigarette smoke slowly drifting into gathering clouds

jukebox music quiet

water splashing behind bar

I swirl, bite salt, sip pale liquid

a part of place

yet a-part

girl child without peers

walking through a lifestyle

among men uninterested about anything beyond the doors

cue ball kisses eight ball puts english to orange stripe’s edge

side pocket score–dull thump

peace all morning, afternoon long

wojcik@

22 Comments

  1. lesliepaints said,

    September 10, 2009 at 11:34 pm

    Hey 47, I like this. I feel like I’m there…….feel like I’ve been there. Sunlight filtering through air dust; that’s good.

    • September 10, 2009 at 11:43 pm

      old memories, leslie, even the sun & dust…hi, like your ‘lion’.

      • lesliepaints said,

        September 11, 2009 at 1:08 am

        Hey 47! Just noticed your new avatar! Whoa…..that’s way cool.

      • September 11, 2009 at 2:02 pm

        leslie–thanks–it’s a small version of Wind Walking.
        how are you?

      • lesliepaints said,

        September 11, 2009 at 6:44 pm

        I’m fine.More hectic than usual as I teach, now, but everything’s cool.

  2. severnyproductions said,

    September 10, 2009 at 11:51 pm

    is that about your local watering hole. lol. its a really colourful poem, nice

    • September 10, 2009 at 11:54 pm

      Well, Kokot, it was all local—south side of Chicago—when me was a wee one who did NOT slow my father down one bit as he made his daily ’rounds’.

  3. Uncle Tree said,

    September 11, 2009 at 11:34 pm

    Hey girl! You changed your looks on me.
    And I like the darker background. Hmmm…tempting.

    I’ve been in a few pool hall style smokey bars myself, yes, indeed.
    If’ns they served food, you might have seen a youngin’ or two in ’em,
    but only if’ns it was before 9’ner so, that is.

    At the only bowling alley in town is where I was first introduced
    to the sights and smells of the adult entertainment section.
    My parents did not frequent such places with us though.
    Rather they did it on the sly, after hours, as we found out later.
    Good for them! It always looked like a fun time to me.

    Thanks for the stroll down Memory Lane, Eva.
    You were right on cue with this one. Cheerz!

    • September 11, 2009 at 11:44 pm

      Hi Uncle Tree–well, my father was not about to be kept from his buds just because he had to keep an eye on me. Just did his watching on his own terms. And these places did not offer ‘adult’ entertainment –it was serious pool and pins and the like–plus–whatever else those guys discussed–and there was plenty of that.

      I rather like the new look meself. Something warmer about the colors–and, according to some folks it’s easier to read. grins

  4. kseverny said,

    September 12, 2009 at 12:24 am

    look i can comment woop

  5. Gabrielle Bryden said,

    September 12, 2009 at 3:58 am

    What a great descriptive piece with lots of atmosphere. I used to play a lot of pool in smoking halls in may late teens (but I don’t think I’d wanna be playing tag with Dad – can’t see him playing it at all) – used to own my own pool table (they called me shark). Love that ‘dull thump).

  6. September 12, 2009 at 1:45 pm

    I found this very colorful and fascinating. A world I do not know yet I felt like I was there. Bravo.

    • September 16, 2009 at 9:57 pm

      Hi Fantasia Lillith. New worlds to explore –that’s a good way to describe ‘blogland’ and the world wide web at large–new worlds.

  7. September 12, 2009 at 10:28 pm

    Shark! Ah yes, a ‘shark’ could relate to the beauty of a pool table in the morning. “dull thump” too. Hi.

  8. y said,

    September 12, 2009 at 11:14 pm

    love the detailed imagery…(smile) thank you for this glimpse into your childhood!

  9. Samantha said,

    September 15, 2009 at 3:09 am

    Ooh! I loved this so! I felt like i was there.. which is a good thing!! I love to watch.. and love to play pool even more. I’ve been on and off leagues for years… but, love to play bar rules and for fun the most. I learned how to play in corner dives and biker bars. I always play better when feeling challenged… and, I love the way I can still surprise most men when they realize I can actually shoot. It never ceases to amaze me why any girl who gets in more than 2 balls is often labeled as a “shark”. LOL Still.. I need practice.. and will not pretend I’m all “that”.

    “I’d rather be lucky than good!”, is my motto… 😉

    • September 15, 2009 at 10:36 pm

      Ha, Samatha, I might have known that you’d be a pool-lover–lol. So glad the poem ‘kissed’ for you. When staying in a hostel in DC while doing research I’d give the lone pool table a go whenver it was free–and yeah–the young guys were amazed at the shots I could put away -nohting fancy, just clean and clear-even after so long away from the stick. It’s like ‘memory’ just doesn’t go away in this regard. It was such FUN. grins.

  10. davecandoit said,

    September 16, 2009 at 1:37 am

    Absolutely terrific. Very well done. Your blog’s really something. I’m glad you dropped by mine; gave me a chance to check out yours.

    • September 16, 2009 at 9:56 pm

      Welcome to mi casa, davecondoit! Glad you’re enjoying visiting. It’s always fun to find new abodes. grins


Leave a Reply

RevolutionResource.org

Agitate, Educate, and Organize ~OO~

Deceleration

Climate Change: Mitigation. Adaptation. Justice.

Lgambill48's Blog

a place for reflective expression.

Creator (GOD), is in Charge

May your own personal Creator (GOD) bring peace and good well to you and Mother Earth (the WORLD) today and the rest of our lives!

Free Alabama Movement

National Movement Against Mass Incarceration and Prison Slavery

Books Can Save A Life

"Sometimes a person needs a story more than food to stay alive." Barry Lopez

The Greenery

Ideas That Grow

The Case for Global Film

Discussing everything that isn't Hollywood (and a little that is)

LRInspire

Wellness Leadership Education

Tales from the Conspiratum

Warning: This site may contain conspiracies

Make No Bones About It

The Quest for the Truth

#NoDAPL Solidarity

Support the Indigenous led movement to stop the Dakota Access Pipeline

Beyond Extreme Energy

No new permits for fossil fuel infrastructure. Renewable energy NOW.

Mugilan Raju

Prime my subconscious, one hint at a time

ipekseyhanpoyrazkarayel

Asla İdeallerinden Vazgeçme Asla! Never Give Up Your İdeals Never!

Interesting Literature

A Library of Literary Interestingness

Portraits of Wildflowers

Perspectives on Nature Photography

Cynthia Reyes - Author

The blog of author Cynthia Reyes

Amber Danette

Freedom for All Cetaceans, Peace for Animals, Namaste

1EarthUnited

Uniting the world, One Love at a time. :D

The Stay-at-home Scientist

Science, Gardening, Work-Life Balance

People Powered Machines

Our business is committed to saving energy, reducing emmissions and waste.

Lucy's Light

Underground Energy - Scientific Documentation of the failures of an OCD albatross + friends

drwilda

Just another WordPress.com site

Tubularsock

". . . first hand coverage, second hand news"

Espen Stenersrød- From Pen To Heart

Jack Kerouac with a scent of Henry Vaughn

Army at Wounded Knee

A blog dedicated to documenting through primary sources, the Army's actions at Wounded Knee

yadadarcyyada

Vague Meanderings of the Broke and Obscure

Ekostories

Essays connecting nature, culture, and self

Red Wolf Journal

A literary compass for finding your voice..."You turn toward me, your lips move, wanting to speak."--Stephen Dobyns, "Wolves In The Street"

poet4justicedotwordpressdotcom

The poet can reach where the sun cannot. -HINDU PROVERBThe greatest WordPress.com site in all the land!

"OUR WORLD"

Working together to make the world a better place to live! A fine WordPress.com site

Spirit In Action

Change IS coming. WE can make it GOOD.

CreekWaterWoman

Cruising through mid-life collecting cats and fighting for the rights of wildlife and the ecosystems where they dwell.

Rezinate's Blog

Just another WordPress.com site

Through the Peacock's Eyes

Insights for Spiritual Living

Heila

Refining Life

the zen space

a space for zen words

Don Lichterman

The Angriest Guy In The World

We Write Poems

a community of people reading & writing poems, moving words

shelbycourtland

Bringing Social Issues To The Forefront

