A Few Cues For Johnny and other ‘blocked’ writers. Some perhaps dubious, but all used.

The other day Johnny wrote about his writing frustrations and people very kindly offered his all sorts of suggestions. I got a tad carried away with mine. But, it made me laugh for a lot of reasons, including the fact that I had gotten carried away with my response,  not the least being that I’ve done all of it and then some more. What makes me laugh is pretty darn scarce these days so I thought it’s only fair to share my glee. Though I am well aware that what tickles me, may not tickle thee.

Without further ado, here are a few of the writing unblocking things I do:
Yep, there are other books to soak up the flow from other writers.

Naps can be great–especially if they get you daydreaming.
Then there’s the walking fest, the way over 60 drive down the highway, dancing, vegging out with a movie marathon, baking a boatload of cookies you like to eat right out of the oven.

There’s free-writing–as long as you’re comfortable with whatever spills out of your brainpan–and I do mean COMFORTABLE.

There’s also negative motivation–like calling someone who loves to talk and talk and talk and all you can do is listen for as long as you can take it. Afterwards your words just have to escape. Usually.

Watching a really bad movie or reading book trash until you start yelling “I CAN do better than this!” Generally one does. Do better that is.

You could see how much storytelling your four-year old will endure of you making it up on the fly.

A trip to the local humane society –yep all those desolate cats and dogs with stories and stories in their eyes—you get where that’s going, don’t you?

OH, and there’s always the mind junk news media to rant and vent at. Get’s your grey matter in a groove you might be able to use.

Brows a bookstore or library for books you don’t like. Tell them why you don’t like them.

Last ditch effort–watch daytime television. Not cable. I mean just what’s on the local stations that fill your idiot box with buy! buy! buy! in between snippets of soapy operas, game shows and other oddities. This is reverse psycho reactionary method. It can backfire in bad ways so use with extreme caution.

Speaking of extreme caution–blow up some fireworks. Not in very dry areas, of course. Some boom! booms! can rattle your cage into doing all sorts of interesting things. No, I’m not going to share.

There’s always the kiddie swings at the parks. To get your blood circulating as high as you can pump your legs.

At the opposite end there is deadly people watching from some vantage point where you can procure libations and body fuel.

Or, you could eat a lot of dark chocolate.
Am I helping yet?
Oops.
Johnny’s blogcasa   http://johnnyojanpera.wordpress.com/2013/11/05/impossible/

Hmm, no tags showing up for me atm. Well, what else is the ‘edit’ button for if not later revisions and additions? Now I’m curious how this will work. Hmm.. Let’s find out.

21 Comments

  1. Johnny Ojanpera said,

    November 7, 2013 at 9:52 pm

    Hi, I’m Johnny, and strangely enough I have the same problem. I figured out that it is because my heart is not broken. This is an unsolvable problem at the moment without sabotaging anything. Maybe soon it will break and the words will spill out like Sesame Street. I do like the idea of checking out crappy books and telling a librarian why they’re crappy. I might try that. Great suggestions all the way around. Thanks 😉

    • November 8, 2013 at 3:19 am

      Well Hello Johnny.
      Oh let me clarify one thing–you tell the Books themselves why they’re crappy–not the bookstore clerks or librarians. The people usually don’t give a hoot. But the Books–now that’s another story entirely.
      Well, if your heart isn’t broken then enjoy it. Cuz once it breaks it’s not so much fun getting it fixed. If it can be. Got to be careful about those spilling words.
      🙂
      When you find something that works–besides breaking your heart with something like a sledge-hammer–let’s add it to the ‘list’. Okay?
      Grins

    • Samanthamj said,

      November 9, 2013 at 7:10 am

      Oh, this was a ticklish read. 🙂 Very sound ideas, all. I like the one about having a conversation with someone who doesn’t let you talk. Lol.
      Personally, I find I can write an awful lot just writing about how I don’t know what to write about… 😉
      Thanks *waving hi*

      • Johnny Ojanpera said,

        November 9, 2013 at 7:16 am

        I did that, 4 pages, and then wrote 8 haiku. It helped. I still want to go to the library and tell them that I found a crappy book. 🙂

    • Samanthamj said,

      November 9, 2013 at 7:12 am

      Johnny, not that I would recommend it, but broken other parts can also be great inspiration… so no need to aim for your heart just yet. 😉

      • Johnny Ojanpera said,

        November 9, 2013 at 7:18 am

        Hmm…I never thought about that. I’m not looking for a broken heart btw. 😉

  2. heila2013 said,

    November 7, 2013 at 9:59 pm

    Ha, great post! Yes, naps are great even (or especially) if you fall asleep while daydreaming… love the ” … some boom booms can rattle your cage into doing all sorts of interesting things.” 🙂

    • November 8, 2013 at 4:12 am

      Hey heila2013.
      Thanks for enjoying.
      Yeah, boom booms are great fun even if they don’t unblock the writing wick. I get such a charge from them. 🙂

  3. November 8, 2013 at 1:43 am

    hahahaha very interesting list 🙂 I always advise jumping in a bath full of water and ice (as a way to stimulate the brain cells) – well those Finnish folk swear by it, and who am I to argue – haven’t actually tried it myself – hahaha hate the cold personally

    • November 8, 2013 at 3:22 am

      Cha cha, Garielle from the Land Down Under. Hmm, you wicked wicked woman–advising something you yourself would not do. I, on the other hand, only offer that which I have done–such as it may be. Guffaw.
      Nawwww, I’m not falling for the ice bath cometh……..:)

  4. Deborah said,

    November 8, 2013 at 11:13 am

    Or you could write just to avoid having to try any of those things. 😉 Except the nap–total winner! Even if it doesn’t lead to daydreaming. 😉

    • November 8, 2013 at 4:11 pm

      Avoid? Heck no, Deborah, writer’s block is a reason/excuse/justification for all such items–including the the NAP. LOL.

  5. November 9, 2013 at 12:42 am

    Just checking in. I’m sitting this go-round of Themes” out. that is an option. 🙂 Think it is your choice next….? Is Tuesday. the 12th good? See ya’ll in a few. XXOO

    • November 9, 2013 at 4:20 am

      HI Bear. Okay, you’re a pass for Emotions. We will deal with our feelings. I think Wed the 13 will be better for me and others too. Maybe you too. I will announce my choice when I make it! Cheers and 2xo 2 u 2. 🙂

      • November 9, 2013 at 5:54 am

        OK

      • November 9, 2013 at 6:58 am

        Actually it is a “pass” whatever the theme was to be. I let Willow know I was “a pass” BEFORE she chose a theme, so she would know it was not her theme choice, but other outside circumstances….. I should have told you, too. Too much piling up.. The Grae are taking too much note of opportunity for intrusion. I’m sorry. Too much at once. I wanna lay low for a bit. I’m sorry. It has nothing to do with themes or blogs or artists or writers (well maybe some, but not WP) or WP or music or, well, anything that makes much sense. Again, I am sorry. Thank you for all that you have done. Bear

  6. November 11, 2013 at 1:45 am

    I like the “watch a bad movie” or “read a bad book” ideas. I’ve been reading a lot of bad books lately (or rather, reading a few pages of them, then deleting them from the Kindle and moving on to the next one) — not because I have writer’s block, just because I’ve been getting free books off a mailing list and there seems to be a somewhat higher rate of stinkers among them than among the ones I’ve paid for. On the other hand, when they do stink, I’m only out $0.00 instead of, say, $12.99 (I’m looking at YOU, “A Discovery of Witches”).

    • November 11, 2013 at 2:17 am

      LOL—Dennis, have you been pawing the Kindle in search of cheap thrills again? What will your human ever think to leave in your reach next? Bad books can be oddly motivating in my dog patch. Witches—huh–looking at YOU. Hmm. Peek a boo?


Leave a Reply

RevolutionResource.org

Agitate, Educate, and Organize ~OO~

Deceleration

Climate Change: Mitigation. Adaptation. Justice.

Lgambill48's Blog

a place for reflective expression.

May your own personal Creator

bring peace and good well to you and Mother Earth the rest of our lives!

Free Alabama Movement

National Movement Against Mass Incarceration and Prison Slavery

Books Can Save A Life

"Sometimes a person needs a story more than food to stay alive." Barry Lopez

The Greenery

Ideas That Grow

The Case for Global Film

Discussing everything that isn't Hollywood (and a little that is)

LRInspire

Wellness Leadership Education

Tales from the Conspiratum

Warning: This site may contain conspiracies

Make No Bones About It

The Quest for the Truth

#NoDAPL Solidarity

Support the Indigenous led movement to stop the Dakota Access Pipeline

Beyond Extreme Energy

No new permits for fossil fuel infrastructure. Renewable energy NOW.

Mugilan Raju

Prime my subconscious, one hint at a time

ipekseyhanpoyrazkarayel

Asla İdeallerinden Vazgeçme Asla! Never Give Up Your İdeals Never!

Interesting Literature

A Library of Literary Interestingness

Portraits of Wildflowers

Perspectives on Nature Photography

Cynthia Reyes - Author

The blog of author Cynthia Reyes

Amber Danette

Freedom for All Cetaceans, Peace for Animals, Namaste

1EarthUnited

Uniting the world, One Love at a time. :D

The Stay-at-home Scientist

Science, Gardening, Work-Life Balance

People Powered Machines

Our business is committed to saving energy, reducing emmissions and waste.

Lucy's Light

Underground Energy - Scientific Documentation of the failures of an OCD albatross + friends

drwilda

Just another WordPress.com site

Tubularsock

". . . first hand coverage, second hand news"

Espen Stenersrød- From Pen To Heart

Jack Kerouac with a scent of Henry Vaughn

Army at Wounded Knee

A blog dedicated to documenting through primary sources, the Army's actions at Wounded Knee

yadadarcyyada

Vague Meanderings of the Broke and Obscure

Ekostories

Essays connecting nature, culture, and self

Red Wolf Journal

A literary compass for finding your voice..."You turn toward me, your lips move, wanting to speak."--Stephen Dobyns, "Wolves In The Street"

poet4justicedotwordpressdotcom

The poet can reach where the sun cannot. -HINDU PROVERBThe greatest WordPress.com site in all the land!

"OUR WORLD"

Working together to make the world a better place to live! A fine WordPress.com site

Spirit In Action

Change IS coming. WE can make it GOOD.

CreekWaterWoman

Cruising through mid-life collecting cats and fighting for the rights of wildlife and the ecosystems where they dwell.

Rezinate's Blog

Just another WordPress.com site

Through the Peacock's Eyes

Insights for Spiritual Living

Heila

Refining Life

the zen space

a space for zen words

Don Lichterman

The Angriest Guy In The World

We Write Poems

a community of people reading & writing poems, moving words

shelbycourtland

Bringing Social Issues To The Forefront

